Health and Social Care

BTEC Health and Social Care - Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award
Curriculum Intent

Why choose Health and Social Care?

About 3 million people work in health and social care. Health care roles include doctors, pharmacists, nurses, midwives and healthcare assistants, while social care roles include care assistants, occupational therapists, counsellors and administrators. Together, they account for nearly one in ten of all paid jobs in the UK. Demand for both health and social care is likely to rise, so they will continue to play a key role in UK society and the demand for people to carry out these vital roles will increase.

Study of this sector at Key Stage 4 will complement GCSE study through providing an opportunity for practical application alongside conceptual study.

What does the qualification cover?

The Award gives learners the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills in a practical learning environment. The main focus is on three areas, which cover:

  • Skills and processes, such as interpreting data to assess an individual’s health, and designing a plan to improve their health and wellbeing.
  • Attitudes, namely the care values that are vitally important in the sector, and the opportunity to practice applying them.
  • Knowledge that underpins the effective use of skills, processes and attitudes, including human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting people’s health and wellbeing.

Progression Opportunities

Learners who generally achieve a Level 2 across their Key Stage 4 learning might consider progression to:

  • A Levels as preparation for entry into higher education in a range of subjects.
  • Study of a vocational qualification at Level 3, such as a BTEC National in Health and Social Care, which prepares learners to enter employment or apprenticeships, or to move on to higher education by studying a degree in aspects of health and social care.

Learners who generally achieve a Level 1 across their Key Stage 4 learning might consider progression to:

  • Study at Level 2 post-16 in a range of technical routes designed to lead to work, to progression to employment, apprenticeships or to further study at Level 3.
  • Study of health and social care post-16 through a technical certificate.

Qualification Structure

There are three components that make up this qualification; two are internally assessed and one is externally assessed.

Internal Assessment

The learner will have to complete assignments in order for internal assessment to take place; these are subject to external standards verification.

External Assessment

This provides the main synoptic assessment for the qualification. Component 3 build directly on components 1 and 2 and enables learning to be brought together and related to a real-life situation.

For further information please contact Mr Adebayo: